Reposted by Russ the Cybercheetah

The off switch exists; it's just split across places.
On desktop:
Settings ➔ See all settings ➔ Smart features ➔ untick the box.
Then, same page: Google Workspace smart features ➔ Manage Workspace smart feature settings ➔ untick both boxes.
2/